Gaming

TV‘s and gaming are like cars and gas. I mean whats a video game with out the 70″ Samsung 240hz led TV, a giant 1000 watt sound system and two hundred pounds of Doritos. Some of you may have noticed a big quarter for releases and almost every source is predicting we are on the precipice of the next generation of gaming consoles. With such tyrants as Microsoft, Sony, Nintendo and potentially Steam leading the way many people are very excited in what is next in is what will become the battle for the living room. Obviously everyone has their own opinion on what will be the next king of consoles. I have my own opinions and being the avid gamer I am I would like to share them with you and hear your ideas. So lets start things off with Sony.

Sony
I believe Sony has a lot to catch up with on the online market however they do have some great offers. I mean for 15 bucks a month you can get an instant game collection there are not many other places that can make such a boast, there controller will remain mostly the same maybe the placement of a new small screen to display items for the player but generally the same. I see the next Play Station to release with a much more enhanced OS and much more online capability more similar to Xbox Live than what is currently on the PS3 and DLC being much more accessible at a faster rate than the last system.  Which is what killed them with games like Skyrim or Call of Duty which have loads of DLC content that people want as soon as possible.

Microsoft
Their new system will feature a lot more integration of voice command and gesture recognition. Their controller may become a more slimmed down version possibly with a screen taking note from the Wii U. They will obviously have two different types of consoles a more affordable one that has been slimmed down for the consumer who mostly buys games such as angry birds and castle crashers. Then they will sell a more beefed up version with a higher price tag for the more dedicated gamers who will be enjoying games such as Halo, Final Fantasy, and Bioshock. However I believe they will have a completely new look on the OS as is tradition with everything Microsoft does. It will feature blu ray technology and with a higher disc capacity you will see a lot more features on games. It will also feature tweaked graphics and a better cloud network so you can play on your profile no matter where you are seamlessly. Also they will stabilize there networks and ensure voice chat can be done with ease.

Nintendo
We have already seen what Nintendo is bringing to the table their tablet design controller is very innovative yet feels lacking. I mean only one person can even use the controller everyone else is stuck with Wii controllers which is very underwhelming. I fell like Nintendo is getting very lazy in the past few years. I haven’t heard of a good new IP that has taken off for them in a long time. While Mario and Zelda are awesome you can only release so many of the same game until people get bored and move on the new shiny things. Smash Bros. will help them see an improvement in sells however I’m afraid it will be another lack luster generation for them. I really want to love Nintendo they were my childhood after all but so were the power rangers and beetleborgs but you don’t see me buying  power rangers toys and playing on the side of the street.

Steam
This is currently all speculation and rumor but apparently this is in the works and if it is it will be devastating. Steam for those of you who don’t know sells games for the pc exclusively. This is nothing special until you add in their secret ingredient. SALES!!! They have so many sells my wallet sometimes cries out in the middle of the night because of the flashbacks. No where else can you get a whole package of 50 games for 15 dollars. The Steambox is supposedly hitting the shelves sometime soon and if so I cant wait to be the first one to grab it up. If they can maintain their sales at this rate I could see it becoming a big contender I mean why buy a game for 59.99 when its 39.99 on my steam box. If this did come to fruition I believe they would not have a controller and would support multiple controllers and would come with an abnormally large hard drive. Obviously it would support wireless internet connection however the only downfall is that it would have to be connected all the time.

Overview
Overall I look forward to the new systems and seeing the innovation they bring with them. However I believe the days of used video games may be behind us. Most of these new systems will only support new games as a way to prevent piracy and to get money from the consumer. Also I believe that we will soon lose the disc all together and become completely digital. This is not a bad thing it’s just hard to accept when you go to the store and get a code in the box instead of the disc to a game it doesn’t really feel like you “own” it. It might be too much to accept for some people but for most of us it will be business as usual also we will see a fundamental change in the way game shops work. I mean when it becomes as simple as clicking a button to download a new game at midnight versus sitting around at midnight for a game release in the cold, or heat which would you choose. I will miss those nights when I get to meet like-minded individuals but the real reason we are all there is to get the game and be the first playing. Now remember everything I am saying is just a guess it would go a completely different way. This is just some game enthusiast ideas jammed into a blog post.

189530711, 1-895-307-11

1 thought on “Gaming

Leave a comment